August 2007 Grenada

August 1, 2007

 

Becoming a real stickler for form during exercise, I continue to make myself sore and tired.  I even had to take another afternoon nap.  The afternoon found Steve and me up at The Oasis, trying our hand at pool.  The game seems beyond me, I just cannot envision the angles or spot the correct place to hit the cue ball.  Luckily, Guy arrived to give Steve some real competition.

 

August 2, 2007

 

There was more AM exercise, afternoon pool and drinks.  Sol Magique joined us for an impromptu dinner of Mediterranean Shrimp, salad and wine.  What fun conversation we had with a couple who are becoming fast friends. 

 

 

August 3, 2007

 

After exercise, Steve and I went into St. George’s for errands.  Steve picked up our blood tests at the hospital and parts from Budget Marine while I tried my hand at dog training at the GSPCA.   Blood test were informative (mine normal, Steve’s with two abnormalities in the liver panel), parts were MIA and it became clear dog training would require more of a commitment than I am willing to make.  Poor Chewie, an abused rottie, needs care 24/7 to overcome her overwhelming sense of fear.  What a shame, but I will do what I can, when I can.

 

We took a bus with several cruisers to the weekly Gouyave Fish Friday.  An hour’s ride coming and going, we all determined that, while fun, it was a LONG way to go for dinner J

 

 

August 4, 2007

 

A quick shower and bite to eat after exercise and I was ready to meet Cutty for our foray into the underbrush and my first my lesson in bush medicine.  What fun!  Who would have thought the vast green curtain lining any road held the promise of treatment for any number of health concerns – exotic names, coalridie, bitter fence, seed-under-leaf, venven, there for the picking.  As we stood roadside, driver’s of passing vehicles stopped to chat with Cutty.  Each time, Cutty would hand me a plant with directions to ask the driver/passengers its name and purpose; and, without exception, each knew.   The only disappointment was a malfunctioning camera leaving me to note taking and memorization.  I met neighbors Ruby and Sebastian, both welcoming and willing to talk.  Cutty and I will get together again when Cutty returns from a month long vacation in England when, with camera hopefully fixed, I will also meet his 91 year old uncle.

 

Our last night at the marina, our last night of karaoke before we leave for Tobago, Steve played pool with the guys and I joined the girls for heart felt vocalizing with the microphone.  We stayed to close the bar down.  J

 

August 5, 2007

 

Mileage: 1.1 miles

Time:  23 minutes

Average SOG:  3 mph

 

6:10:07 AM                0.5 mi 0:08:18           3 mph 128° true        N12 00.559 W61 44.255

6:18:25 AM                0.4 mi 0:07:49           3 mph 131° true        N12 00.314 W61 43.940

6:26:14 AM                156 ft  0:07:11           0.2 mph 48° true        N12 00.074 W61 43.653

6:33:25 AM                                                                                        N12 00.091 W61 43.634

 

We moved from the marina to an anchorage by Calivigny Island to stage for tomorrow’s departure to Tobago.  Steve cleaned the hull, after so long at the marina, it was over-grown.  With warm, clean water calling our names, we both jumped in for a quick dip. It was so nice to be wet again.  HOORAY! 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment